Vinyl purists who dig the deep glossy black pizza can salivate in the news that MCA and the Hendrix Experience imprint have announced that in mid-September they'll release an 8-LP box set of Jimi Hendrix rarities. Simply titled The Jimi Hendrix Experience, this snappy collection will come in a purple velvet case featuring a holographic, previously unpublished cover photo of the band, a 12-inch-by-12-inch 40-page booklet of examples of Hendrix's handwritten lyrics, and more rare photos by Linda McCartney, Karl Ferris, and Dave Sygall. The eight LPs, pressed on 180-gram audiophile vinyl, cover 56 tracks over four hours - all rare and alternative takes. And yes, a CD version will be available as well ... . Lookout Records serves up a tasty various-artists sampler this Tuesday, calling all garage rockin' punks to its Lookout! Freakout! Shindig. The super cheap 24-track sampler collects previously unreleased tracks from Squirtgun, Pansy Division, Groovie Ghoulies, The Smugglers, Ann Beretta, The Mopes, Black Cat Music, Common Rider, and more ... . Speaking of well-done samplers, this Tuesday also brings the fifth and sixth volumes of Tee Pee Records' A Fistful Of Rock 'n Roll series. The brainchild and passion of Electric Frankenstein guitarist Sal Canzonieri, the series gathers up the best in today's best hard, garage-punk-tinged, glue-sniffin' riff rock loaded with lots of rare and alternative tracks, enhanced-CD-ROM material featuring links to the bands' web sites, and additional artwork. Artists to be found on these two new volumes include The Dwarves, Trash Brats, Jack Saints, Bobby Teens, Sonny Vincent with Ron & Scott Ashton, The Damned's Captain Sensible, and many more.

Television Alert:
The Tonight Show with Jay Leno welcomes Motley Crue on Thursday, Bon Jovi on Monday, and Eve 6 on Tuesday. The Late Show with David Letterman hosts Ben Folds Five tonight and Lucy Pearl on Friday. Politically Incorrect with Bill Maher gets inside the mind of rising star Kelis on Friday overnight. And the Late Late Show With Craig Kilborn has Paul Rodgers on Thursday overnight and Everclear on Monday overnight.

New Releases Coming Tuesday, July 25: and like the winds, young grasshopper, are subject to change...
Confrontation Camp - Objects In the Mirror Are Closer Than They Appear (Slam / Artemis) re-teaming of Public Enemy's Chuck D and Professor Griff, appearing live at this summer's Warped Tour with guitarist Kyle Jason
Sandy Denny - No More Sad Returns: The Anthology (A & M) 2-CD collection of hits and rarities
DJ Baby Anne - Bass Question: In the Mix 2 (Pandisc) hot DJ from Orlando, Florida
Eve 6 - Horrorscope (RCA)
Fate's Warning - Disconnected (Metal Blade)
Fifteen - Hush (Sub City) new from Jeff Ott and company
Finger Eleven - The Greyest of Blue Skies (Wind-Up)
David Gray - Flesh (Vernon Yard) re-issue of this 1994 album in conjunction with his stellar new White Ladder album
The Guess Who - American Woman (Buddha) CD re- issue from 1970 with bonus archival photos and one previously unreleased track
Hepcat - Push 'n Shove (Hellcat)
Ian Hunter - Once Bitten Twice Shy: The Best Of (Columbia Legacy) 2-CD set with 18 rare or previously unreleased tracks
Isle Of Q - Isle Of Q (Universal) old-school hard rock from Philadelphia
Kool Keith - Matthew (Threshold / Funky Ass) new from the hip-hop legend also know as Black Elvis, Dr. Octagon, and Dr. Dooom
Ladytron - Commodore Rock EP (Emperor Norton) their last single pulled record of the week in December 1999's NME
Low End Boys - Smoke City (Pandisc) big bounce from South Carolina
James Michael - Inhale (Beyond) Moloko - Pure Pleasure Seeker (Echo) UK-only import CD and 12-inch vinyl single
Morcheeba - Fragments Of Freedom (China) import only so far, with a limited edition available featuring a CD-ROM video of "Rome" and the ability to mix a track
Oasis - Sunday Morning Call (Big Brother Recordings) new import only CD, and 7-inch single OS101 - Pura Vida (Victory) featuring guests Catch 22
Pearl Jam - Light Years (Epic) import only CD and yellow vinyl 7-inch single, each with different B-sides
Reset - No Limits (Moon Ska) with new drummer Adrian White, formerly of Front Line Assembly
Michel Sassoon - What Is Your Name (Max / Midney) trance electronica
Slobberbone - Everything You Thought Was Right Was Wrong Today (New West)
The Story So Far - When Fortune Smiled (Hopeless) featuring former members of 88 Fingers Louie and King For a Day
Suave Dre - Playuz Digest (MCA) with guests the East Side Boyz and Lil Keke
The Telegraph - Switched On (Jump Up)
Richard & Linda Thompson - The Best Of the Island Years (Island) 16-track collection of early 1970s material
Amon Tobin - 4 Ton Mantis (Ninja Tune) 4-track EP Tsar - Tsar (Hollywood) touring with Duran Duran this summer
UFO - Covenant (Shrapnel) new from the classic line-up of Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg, Pete Way, and Aynsley Dunbar
Union 13 - Youth Betrayal and the Awakening (Epitaph)
The Weakerthans - Left and Leaving (Sub City) featuring John Samson, formerly of Propagandhi
Wyclef Jean - Eclectic: Two Sides of the Book (Columbia)

Support the River Cities' Reader

Help Keep the Reader Alive and Free Since '93!


"We're the River Cities' Reader, and we've kept the Quad Cities' only independently owned newspaper alive and free since 1993. Now we find our ability to continue providing all the features you love in serious jeopardy without the financial support of our readers.

So please help the Reader keep going with your one-time, monthly, or annual support. With your financial support the Reader can continue providing uncensored, non-scripted, and independent journalism alongside the Quad Cities' area's most comprehensive cultural coverage." - Todd McGreevy, Publisher